Author: toxlaw

  • Can Oral Fluid Detect Amphetamine for Days After a Single Therapeutic Dose?

    “How long does amphetamine stay detectable?” is incomplete without the specimen and reporting threshold. A detection window describes a measurement under stated conditions. It should not be presented as a fixed deadline that decides whether someone took a new dose, followed a prescription, or was impaired.

    What did the controlled-dose study find?

    Helland and colleagues studied 22 healthy adults. Eleven received a single oral 10 mg dexamphetamine dose; another 11 received 30 mg lisdexamphetamine, with a separate methylphenidate session. Oral fluid and urine were collected approximately every eight hours. Amphetamine cutoffs were 1.5 ng/mL in oral fluid and 50 ng/mL in urine. Urinary concentrations were creatinine-adjusted.

    Model-based median last-detection times for amphetamine were 69 hours in oral fluid and 78 hours in urine after dexamphetamine, and 67 and 77 hours after lisdexamphetamine. These were estimated intersections of elimination curves with cutoffs, not exact disappearance times observed continuously. Individual estimated oral-fluid times after dexamphetamine ranged from 61 to 93 hours. Urine pH affected amphetamine concentrations. The study was small, involved single doses in healthy adults, and did not test driving impairment.

    Why does the cutoff belong in the conclusion?

    Imagine two otherwise identical reports using different thresholds. One can label a sample negative while the other reports a concentration. The labels can disagree without either laboratory having detected a different molecule. Before interpreting that disagreement, ask which decision rule each laboratory applied.

    The same reasoning applies to a proposed detection deadline. A time estimate without its cutoff leaves out the rule defining the endpoint. It is like reporting the time a vehicle crossed a finish line without identifying where the finish line was placed.

    What can a positive result establish about behavior?

    The supplied 2002 Logan review addresses methamphetamine performance effects across varying exposure conditions. It is historical context, not validation of the newer study’s oral-fluid window. In addition, amphetamine measured after a prescribed prodrug and methamphetamine measured in a driving investigation must retain their separate identities.

    A useful forensic report should separate the analytical statement from the behavioral opinion. “Amphetamine was measured above this reporting threshold” is an analytical proposition. “The person could not safely perform this task at an earlier time” requires evidence addressing that task and time. Moving between the two propositions needs an explicit argument.

    How should a disputed testing timeline be reviewed?

    Start with the original report, the identified analyte, specimen type, threshold, collection time and any concentration adjustment. State the actual question next: detection of exposure, compatibility with a stated medication history, or functional performance. Compare evidence directed to that question rather than selecting a published median as though it were an individual stopwatch.

    This approach preserves useful testing information while making the limits of the proposed inference visible. It also gives another reviewer concrete assumptions to examine, rather than a general claim that the drug “lasts three days.”

    Sources and evidence type

    Helland A, Muller S, Spigset O, et al. Drug detection in oral fluid and urine after single therapeutic doses of dexamphetamine, lisdexamphetamine, and methylphenidate in healthy volunteers. Journal of Analytical Toxicology. 2025;49(2):65–72. Controlled human dosing and analytical study, published online December 19, 2024. DOI: 10.1093/jat/bkae097. Full text.

    Logan BK. Methamphetamine—Effects on Human Performance and Behavior. Forensic Science Review. 2002;14(1–2):133–151. Historical narrative review; supplied full text. PMID 26256490.

  • Does a Methamphetamine Interaction Trial Show That Mirtazapine Protects the Heart?

    A medication can be studied alongside methamphetamine without being shown to protect someone from methamphetamine. That distinction matters when a laboratory interaction study is offered as evidence about the cause of an adverse event. The appropriate question is whether the research actually tested the protective effect being claimed.

    What did the 2026 human experiment test?

    Black and colleagues reported a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled inpatient crossover study in 15 participants with methamphetamine use disorder: 12 without opioid use and three receiving methadone maintenance. Oral mirtazapine 30 mg daily or placebo preceded a 30 mg intravenous methamphetamine challenge on the fifth day. Participants crossed to the opposite condition. This was an interaction study, not a treatment-efficacy trial.

    Mirtazapine neither significantly reduced nor increased the measured cardiovascular response to methamphetamine. The heart-rate interaction estimate was −0.06 beats/minute, with a 95% confidence interval of −9.33 to 9.20. Methamphetamine peak plasma concentration occurred 0.26 hours earlier during mirtazapine exposure (P = .02); other pharmacokinetic effects were not observed. Adverse-event frequency and severity did not significantly differ. No serious adverse events or deaths occurred. Selection excluded unstable cardiovascular conditions; only three participants received methadone. The small sample and controlled challenge limit generalization.

    Why is a null interaction different from protection?

    Consider the claim, “The medication prevented the stimulant’s cardiac effects.” To support that proposition, a comparison must demonstrate a reduction in the relevant response. An estimate near zero for an interaction instead addresses whether the response changed detectably between conditions. Calling that protection reverses the question.

    A confidence interval also belongs beside the point estimate. As a matter of statistical interpretation, failure to reject a zero interaction is different from demonstrating equivalence within a prespecified clinically acceptable margin. A reviewer should ask whether that margin was defined and tested before using the word “equivalent.”

    How should this evidence be used in a forensic assessment?

    The supplied historical review by Logan, published in 2002, describes methamphetamine effects across different doses, routes and patterns of use. It provides context for keeping those exposure details attached to an interpretation; it does not independently establish the safety of this medication combination.

    For an individual case, first identify the proposition: an interaction, protection, treatment benefit, or attribution of an injury. Then identify the outcome needed to answer it. A physiological measurement, a treatment-retention endpoint and a cause-of-injury opinion cannot be substituted for one another merely because all involve the same drugs.

    Useful records to request include the medication-administration timeline, specimen collection times, original cardiovascular observations and the basis for identifying the other substances involved. Those are proposed review steps, not findings that any particular patient experienced harm. This article does not recommend taking or combining medications.

    Sources and evidence type

    Black F, Santos GM, McMahan VM, et al. Safety of intravenous methamphetamine in patients taking mirtazapine: a two-site phase 1b randomized controlled trial. Journal of Clinical Psychopharmacology. 2026;46(4):404–411. Controlled human interaction experiment. DOI: 10.1097/JCP.0000000000002148. Full text.

    Logan BK. Methamphetamine—Effects on Human Performance and Behavior. Forensic Science Review. 2002;14(1–2):133–151. Historical narrative review; supplied full text. Verified bibliographic record, PMID 26256490.

  • Five Patients or Five Per Group? Reading Treatment-Resistant Methamphetamine Psychosis Evidence

    A report of improvement in five patients and a comparison involving five patients per group do not provide the same kind of evidence. A narrative review of methamphetamine-associated psychosis illustrates why that distinction matters when evaluating treatments for persistent or treatment-resistant symptoms.

    Stacy and colleagues describe encouraging case reports and small treatment series alongside a pilot comparison with a null finding. Reading only the favorable observations would misrepresent the evidence the review actually presents.

    What did the review investigate?

    The authors searched PubMed, Google Scholar and PsycINFO for English-language literature published through April 2023. They considered randomized trials, retrospective cohorts and reviews, and checked references for additional relevant work. The paper first appeared online in May 2024 and was subsequently included in the journal’s 2025 volume.

    This is a narrative synthesis, not one new treatment trial or a pooled calculation of treatment response. Its sources include human clinical observations, comparative studies and animal research. There is no single participant denominator, treatment dose or observation interval for the review as a whole.

    The discussion below concerns the review’s account of persistent methamphetamine-associated psychotic symptoms. It does not present the underlying primary studies as independently reanalyzed datasets.

    What did the five-person minocycline series show?

    The review describes a small study of five participants with treatment-resistant methamphetamine psychosis. Its cited reference identifies the work as an open-label case series. The reported regimen was minocycline 200 mg once daily, with improvements in positive and negative symptoms and aspects of neurocognitive function, including auditory working memory, reported within two months.

    Those details identify the historical observation. They do not establish a treatment recommendation or a verified response probability for other patients. The review’s summary does not supply a randomized comparator, a blinded assessment or a complete participant-level account of which outcomes improved in each individual.

    Without an appropriate comparison, improvement over time cannot be attributed uniquely to the added medication. Changes in other treatment, time since methamphetamine use, clinical setting and the natural course of symptoms remain possible contributors. The case series can generate a research hypothesis while leaving that causal question unresolved.

    What happened in the ten-person ECT comparison?

    The review also discusses electroconvulsive therapy, or ECT. Favorable case reports and animal findings suggested potential benefit, but an Iranian pilot study involving ten patients with chronic methamphetamine-associated psychotic symptoms found no difference in Brief Psychiatric Rating Scale scores between the ECT group and the group maintained on olanzapine.

    The denominator was five patients in each group, not ten patients receiving each treatment. The review identifies that very small sample as a limitation and calls for larger longitudinal studies.

    A null comparison in such a small study does not establish that the treatments are equivalent. Conversely, the favorable reports cited elsewhere in the review do not erase the pilot’s null result. Both belong in an accurate description of what was known within the review’s search period.

    The summary does not provide enough detail to reconstruct a full treatment protocol, estimate a reliable comparative effect or determine which subgroups might respond differently. Those omissions should remain visible rather than being filled with assumptions.

    How do clozapine case reports fit?

    The review notes reports of patients with antipsychotic-resistant methamphetamine-associated psychosis responding to clozapine. It identifies these as case reports, rather than a large controlled trial establishing a general success rate.

    A case report can document a clinically important sequence of events. It cannot supply a denominator of all similar patients treated, including those who did not improve or whose outcomes were not published. Counting published favorable cases as if they were the only eligible cases creates an unsupported estimate of effectiveness.

    The label treatment-resistant also needs context. The review’s brief summaries do not justify assuming identical prior treatment failures, adherence, duration of abstinence or coexisting conditions across the clozapine reports, the minocycline series and the ECT pilot.

    Can larger acute-psychosis trials settle the persistent-symptom question?

    Not automatically. In its separate discussion of acute methamphetamine-associated psychosis, the review describes a 120-patient comparison of extended-release paliperidone with risperidone. Both groups improved on the Positive and Negative Syndrome Scale, without a statistically significant efficacy difference reported between the medications.

    That larger denominator belongs to a different clinical comparison and a different symptom context. It should not be added to the five-person series or ten-person pilot to make the evidence for a particular treatment of resistant symptoms appear larger.

    Comparing two active treatments also answers a different question from observing an uncontrolled series or comparing treatment against placebo. Study size alone cannot remove those differences in design.

    Which outcome is the treatment claim about?

    Psychotic-symptom scores, cognitive test performance, methamphetamine consumption, treatment retention and longer-term functioning are different endpoints. A favorable symptom observation does not establish improvement in every other domain.

    In particular, research on managing persistent psychotic symptoms should not be recast as proof of reduced methamphetamine use unless drug-use outcomes were actually measured. Nor does a person’s positive toxicology result establish that the person resembles the patients in these small clinical reports.

    What is the defensible conclusion?

    Within its historical evidence window, the review describes promising observations but substantial uncertainty about management of persistent and resistant symptoms. It does not provide a high-confidence ranking of the approaches discussed here.

    For appraisal of a scientific opinion, the useful questions are concrete: was the evidence a case report, an uncontrolled series or a comparative study; how many people were in each group; which symptoms were measured; and were null findings retained? Keeping those details attached to a claim prevents preliminary observations from becoming an unsupported statement of established effectiveness.

    Reference

    Stacy P, Frantz J, Miller G, Merrill B, Gainer D. A narrative review of the pathophysiology and treatment of methamphetamine-associated psychosis. International Journal of Mental Health and Addiction. 2025;23:3837–3852. Published online May 14, 2024. doi:10.1007/s11469-024-01323-y. Historical narrative review; literature search through April 2023.

  • Did Better Avoidance Performance on Amphetamine Persist After Withdrawal? A Four-Rat Experiment

    Performing a task better while receiving a drug does not establish that the improvement will persist after the drug is withdrawn. A 1966 experiment by Schuster, Dockens and Woods tested that question directly in four rats selected for relatively poor avoidance performance.

    The investigators found sustained effects during daily amphetamine administration, but no lasting improvement when animals returned to saline conditions. The result separates persistence of an on-drug effect from transfer of better performance into the drug-free state.

    Which animals and task were studied?

    The avoidance experiment involved four Sprague-Dawley rats weighing approximately 350–375 g. After 125 hours of training, they were selected from a larger group because their avoidance performance was poor but stable. That selection is part of the study’s meaning: these were not four randomly chosen representatives of all possible baseline performers.

    During daily ninety-minute sessions, a lever press postponed shock. If thirty seconds passed without a response, shock began and continued until a lever press or a maximum of ten seconds. There was no external warning signal immediately before shock.

    The investigators recorded lever responses, shocks and escape latency. Responding to postpone a shock and responding to terminate one already underway were therefore distinguishable outcomes.

    What amphetamine regimen was used?

    After seven saline control sessions, the rats received 1.0 mg/kg d-amphetamine subcutaneously thirty minutes before each daily session for thirty-five days. The same administered dose was maintained during this first chronic treatment period.

    The animals then completed twenty saline control sessions. Two of the four subsequently underwent a second twenty-day drug period that began at 1.0 mg/kg, with the dose reduced by 0.05 mg/kg each day. Seven further saline sessions followed that second period.

    The tapering observations thus came from two animals, not the full group of four. The experiment did not measure blood amphetamine concentrations, so the administered mg/kg doses should not be converted into concentration thresholds.

    Did every animal show the same improvement?

    The total number of lever responses increased in all four animals throughout the initial chronic-drug regimen. Three animals—AV-1, AV-4 and AV-5—showed a marked reduction in shocks. The fourth, AV-2, showed a smaller increase in responding and no clear reduction in shocks.

    That exception prevents an overly broad claim that increased responding necessarily improved avoidance to the same degree in every subject. A response count and its consequence are different measurements.

    The approximately 0.6-second escape latencies were not changed by the drug regimen. Thus, even where the animals received fewer shocks, the paper did not demonstrate a general improvement in every speed-related endpoint.

    Did the on-drug effect fade with repeated administration?

    The increased response counts and the reduced shock frequency in the three responding animals showed no tendency to diminish across the thirty-five-day regimen. For these specific outcomes at this dose, the authors did not observe development of behavioral tolerance.

    That description has a limited scope. It does not show absence of adaptation in every physiological system, absence of dependence, or an unchanged response to every amphetamine effect. No such comprehensive set of endpoints was measured.

    The same paper examined food-reinforced behavior under different schedules and discussed different tolerance patterns. Its broader argument was that the relationship between behavior and its consequences could matter, rather than that an animal has one universal tolerance status.

    What happened when amphetamine was withdrawn?

    When the four rats returned to saline conditions after the first regimen, their performance immediately returned to the earlier pattern. Prolonged experience making more responses and avoiding more shocks had not produced a lasting improvement detectable under the study’s saline conditions.

    In the two-animal tapering phase, response counts declined and shocks increased as the dose diminished. Their later saline performance again showed no improvement over the earlier saline baseline. The authors therefore did not find transfer of the facilitated avoidance performance after either abrupt withdrawal or gradual dose reduction in the tested animals.

    The result concerns these observed task outcomes. It is not proof that the animals learned nothing during treatment, that no latent memory existed, or that a particular psychological mechanism uniquely caused the return to baseline.

    How strong is the evidence for a general rule?

    This is small, historical primary animal research, with repeated observations within individual subjects. The four-rat avoidance cohort and two-rat tapering subset are important limits. The findings should not be presented as a population estimate for the probability of transfer after stimulant treatment.

    The protocol also selected poor baseline performers and used a specific shock-avoidance contingency. Results could depend on baseline proficiency, dose, task demands, consequences and the conditions under which transfer was assessed. The study did not experimentally isolate each of those possibilities.

    The investigators proposed a working hypothesis about reinforcement conditions and behavioral tolerance. That proposal was an interpretation of preliminary experiments, not an independently validated explanation for every instance of amphetamine tolerance.

    What can be carried into a human evidence review?

    The useful distinction is between an effect maintained during exposure and a skill or behavioral improvement retained after exposure ends. Evidence for the first does not automatically establish the second.

    This rat experiment cannot determine whether a human treatment improves long-term functioning, whether a person was impaired at a particular event, or how performance would change after a particular human withdrawal schedule. It does support asking a concrete question whenever a study is cited as evidence of durable improvement: was the claimed benefit actually tested after the drug was removed, and did it remain?

    References

    Schuster CR, Dockens WS, Woods JH. Behavioral variables affecting the development of amphetamine tolerance. Psychopharmacologia. 1966;9(2):170–182. doi:10.1007/BF00404721. Historical primary animal research; this commentary focuses on the four-rat avoidance experiment.

  • Do Receptor-Docking Scores Establish a Treatment for Methamphetamine Dependence?

    A computer-generated receptor-binding prediction can identify an idea to test. It cannot, by itself, show that a compound blocks methamphetamine’s effects or treats dependence. That distinction is central to reading a 2025 study by Ridgway and colleagues on simulated interactions involving angiotensin, adrenergic and opioid receptors.

    The paper includes methamphetamine among adrenergic-receptor comparator ligands and discusses possible applications of sartans and experimental bisartans to methamphetamine addiction. Its results require a careful separation of computational observations from hypotheses about biological and clinical effects.

    What kind of study was this?

    The new analyses were molecular docking and molecular dynamics simulations. The investigators used receptor structures and modeled how selected molecules could fit into receptor-binding regions. This is in silico evidence, rather than a trial in people with methamphetamine dependence.

    The paper also discusses earlier tissue and animal experiments, including vascular responses to other agonists. Those cited experiments do not turn each new computer prediction into an independently verified biological finding. An effect on phenylephrine-induced contraction, for example, is not the same experiment as treating methamphetamine dependence.

    Where did methamphetamine enter the comparison?

    In discussing global docking at alpha-adrenergic receptors, the authors reported stronger predicted binding for selected sartans and bisartans than for several comparator ligands, including methamphetamine. They explicitly acknowledged that an unexpected ranking might reflect computational bias or binding that does not produce biological activity.

    This was a comparison of modeled receptor interactions. It did not measure methamphetamine concentrations in blood or brain, displacement in a living person, reversal of an intoxication endpoint, or a change in drug consumption.

    A molecule receiving a stronger docking score than methamphetamine therefore should not be described as experimentally demonstrated to overpower methamphetamine in the body.

    What did the reported numbers represent?

    The docking method used AutoDock VINA through the YASARA modeling environment. Binding-site searches used the best result from at least 500 runs per ligand. Global searches began with randomized ligand placement and conformation and used at least 900 runs per ligand.

    These are computational search runs, not numbers of animals, patients or independent clinical replications. Repeating a search can help find favorable configurations within a model, but does not supply biological observations missing from that model.

    The paper reported binding-energy scores in kcal/mol using a positive-value convention, with more positive values designated as stronger binding. It also expressed calculated dissociation constants on a logarithmic picomolar scale. Neither quantity is a measured human drug concentration or a clinical dose.

    Does predicted binding identify activation or blockade?

    No functional response was established merely by assigning a favorable pose and score. A prediction that a ligand can occupy a modeled region does not independently determine whether it activates signaling, blocks an agonist, produces a partial effect, or has little functional consequence.

    The paper itself discusses discrepancies between docking rankings and biological potency. It proposes explanations involving receptor state, signaling partners and possible software bias. Those competing explanations are a reason to retain uncertainty, rather than to select whichever interpretation best supports a therapeutic claim.

    For the methamphetamine comparison, the missing step is especially consequential: a predicted interaction with an adrenergic receptor does not establish a beneficial effect on the behaviors or clinical outcomes relevant to dependence.

    Did molecular dynamics validate the methamphetamine result?

    The investigators followed selected docking results with molecular dynamics simulations, examining the experimental bisartan ACC519TT in selected receptor complexes over approximately 150–200 nanoseconds. The ligand generally remained within the modeled binding regions.

    That result concerns stability of selected simulated complexes over a very short modeled interval. It is not a direct validation of every ligand-receptor ranking, and it should not be relabeled as a methamphetamine treatment experiment.

    The authors also acknowledged that some receptor conformational changes could reflect early relaxation of the modeled complexes rather than an established transition between functional receptor states. A plausible trajectory does not resolve every ambiguity in the underlying receptor model.

    Why is the dependence hypothesis a further step?

    The discussion proposes connections between receptor desensitization, tolerance and addiction, and suggests investigating whether modifying receptor sensitivity could have therapeutic value. Those proposals extend beyond the measured computational endpoints.

    The study did not operationally test drug taking, withdrawal, relapse or a clinical diagnosis in the simulated systems. It therefore cannot establish that these outcomes are interchangeable consequences of the same modeled receptor state. Nor can a docking score demonstrate that changing that state would improve a person’s condition.

    Such a treatment claim would require biological evidence of the relevant action, evidence that the compound reaches the necessary site at a usable exposure, and studies measuring the claimed clinical outcome. The docking comparison supplies none of those steps on its own.

    What is the defensible use of this paper?

    The study can be used to identify proposed receptor interactions and experiments that might test them. Its authors explicitly describe hypothetical and speculative elements, and recognize that apparent binding does not necessarily produce a response.

    For an evidence review, the practical questions are whether a quoted number was measured or computed, which ligand was actually simulated, whether functional activity was tested, and whether the cited outcome involved methamphetamine at all. Keeping those questions attached to the result preserves the difference between a research lead and an established treatment.

    References

    Ridgway H, Moore GJ, Gadanec LK, Matsoukas JM. Docking simulations of G-protein coupled receptors uncover crossover binding patterns of diverse ligands to angiotensin, alpha-adrenergic and opioid receptors: implications for cardiovascular disease and addiction. Biomolecules. 2025;15(6):855. doi:10.3390/biom15060855. Primary computational research; proposed clinical implications require separate validation.

  • Do Ibudilast Findings in Methamphetamine Studies Prove a PDE4 Mechanism?

    A compound can change methamphetamine-related behavior without establishing which of its biological actions caused that change. A 2016 review by Olsen and Liu illustrates this problem with ibudilast, an agent discussed for both phosphodiesterase inhibition and effects on inflammatory activity in glial cells.

    The distinction is especially important when a broadly acting compound appears in a review organized around a particular molecular target. Inclusion in a PDE4 review is not itself proof that PDE4 inhibition explains every finding reported for that compound.

    What kind of evidence does the paper provide?

    This is a historical narrative review, not a new clinical trial or a meta-analysis calculating a pooled treatment effect. It summarizes laboratory, animal and clinical research involving phosphodiesterase inhibitors and several different drugs of abuse. Its methamphetamine discussion draws primarily on preclinical experiments.

    There is consequently no single animal count, dose, route or sampling interval for the review as a whole. The methamphetamine section does not give all those details for each cited experiment. Its summary cannot supply a combined denominator or a precise dose-response estimate that it never calculated.

    The analysis below concerns the review’s account of the evidence. It does not represent an independent reanalysis of the underlying primary datasets.

    What is the proposed PDE4 target?

    Phosphodiesterases are enzymes that degrade intracellular cyclic nucleotides. PDE4 acts on cyclic AMP, or cAMP, a signaling molecule. The review describes several PDE4 isoforms and splice variants, with differing distributions across brain regions.

    That diversity makes specificity consequential. A selective PDE4 inhibitor, an inhibitor acting across several phosphodiesterase types, and a compound with additional anti-inflammatory effects are different experimental tools. Their names should not be exchanged as though each isolates the same mechanism.

    The review describes ibudilast as a nonselective phosphodiesterase inhibitor that also inhibits glial proinflammatory activity. A behavioral change after ibudilast therefore leaves more than one candidate explanation.

    Which methamphetamine-related behaviors changed?

    The review reports that ibudilast and its analogue AV1013 reduced methamphetamine-associated increases in locomotor activity and sensitization without significantly altering locomotor activity when given alone. It also describes reductions in methamphetamine self-administration and in reinstatement of methamphetamine seeking.

    These outcomes are related but distinct. Locomotor sensitization concerns a changing movement response after repeated exposure. Self-administration concerns responding that earns drug delivery. Reinstatement concerns renewed responding after that behavior has been extinguished, elicited in the cited work by footshock or a drug prime.

    A reduction in reinstated responding is not automatically a reduction in the amount of drug consumed during that test. Likewise, a locomotor result does not directly measure an animal’s subjective craving. The original behavioral endpoint matters when the review’s findings are described in everyday language.

    Why does AV1013 complicate the mechanism claim?

    According to the review, AV1013 shares ibudilast’s anti-inflammatory activity while only negligibly inhibiting phosphodiesterases. Yet both compounds affected methamphetamine-related behaviors in the studies summarized.

    That comparison makes a simple explanation based solely on phosphodiesterase inhibition less secure. If an analogue with little of that action produces a similar behavioral finding, the broad target label cannot establish the action responsible for the result.

    The review interprets the evidence as suggesting that modulation of glial inflammatory activity also contributes. This is a mechanistic hypothesis supported by the comparison, not proof of one exclusive pathway. The compounds could share other relevant properties, and a summary of their behavioral effects does not independently establish which molecular action is necessary or sufficient.

    A more decisive causal test would need to manipulate the proposed pathway separately and determine whether the behavioral effect disappears or returns. That is a different evidentiary step from showing that two related compounds both change behavior.

    Does a behavioral effect necessarily mean less dopamine release?

    No. The review describes a microdialysis finding in which rolipram, a selective PDE4 inhibitor, increased striatal cAMP but did not significantly alter the methamphetamine-induced increase in striatal dopamine. Those are separate analytes and separate results: an intracellular signaling change did not establish a significant reduction in the measured extracellular dopamine response.

    This finding concerns rolipram, not ibudilast or AV1013. It should not be relabeled as a direct measurement of those compounds’ mechanisms. Its value here is to limit the general assumption that every behavioral effect associated with PDE inhibition must operate by reducing the same measured dopamine increase.

    Why are control behaviors important?

    A treatment that reduces drug-related responding may also affect movement, motivation or the ability to perform the task. The review identifies such complications in the broader phosphodiesterase literature, including findings involving food reinforcement and possible nonspecific behavioral suppression.

    Those observations from other drugs are not interchangeable with methamphetamine results. In the methamphetamine studies summarized, the absence of a significant locomotor effect from ibudilast or AV1013 alone helps address a general movement-suppression explanation for the locomotor findings. It does not establish complete behavioral specificity across every self-administration or reinstatement protocol.

    What can be concluded about human treatment?

    The review identified therapeutic opportunities and described clinical development as it stood in 2016. Those historical descriptions are not evidence of current approval status, later trial outcomes or demonstrated effectiveness for an individual patient.

    The defensible conclusion is narrower: preclinical behavioral findings made ibudilast and related compounds candidates for further investigation, while the analogue comparison complicated attribution to PDE4 inhibition alone. The paper does not validate a blood biomarker of this mechanism, establish a human dosing regimen, or permit a methamphetamine-positive toxicology result to be translated into a particular glial response or degree of impairment.

    References

    Olsen CM, Liu QS. Phosphodiesterase 4 inhibitors and drugs of abuse: current knowledge and therapeutic opportunities. Frontiers in Biology. 2016;11(5):376–386. doi:10.1007/s11515-016-1424-0. Historical narrative review, including preclinical methamphetamine evidence.

  • Naloxone Was Documented but Usually Not Detected: What Eleven Living Cases Mean for Death-Investigation Interpretation

    A negative naloxone result does not, by itself, prove that naloxone was never administered. Havro and colleagues found clear administration records in eleven living-driver cases, but detected naloxone in only one corresponding blood specimen. This is useful evidence about a negative test’s limits, not a validated detection rate for autopsy specimens.

    The eleven cases were not autopsies

    The Orange County study reviewed 2018–2019 fentanyl-positive casework, including 199 antemortem blood specimens from suspected impaired-driving cases and 285 central-blood specimens from death investigations.

    In eleven of the living cases, police records documented that the person was unconscious in a driver’s seat and could not be awakened. Officers or paramedics administered at least one nasal-spray dose of naloxone, and each person regained consciousness. The actual dose was not specified.

    These records provide evidence independent of the laboratory’s naloxone finding. They must not be relabeled as eleven decedents, eleven fatal overdoses or eleven postmortem failures of an assay.

    The fentanyl results had their own analytical support

    Blood was drawn by a phlebotomist from the median cubital vein and refrigerated at 4°C. The study described sodium fluoride and potassium oxalate preservation, approximately 2% and 0.75% at full container capacity. The report did not give a uniform naloxone-administration-to-blood-draw interval for these eleven cases.

    Fentanyl concentrations ranged from 1.6 to 10.6 ng/mL, with a mean of 4.1 ng/mL and median of 3.3 ng/mL. Fentanyl screening used LC–quadrupole time-of-flight MS, followed by separate LC–MS/MS confirmation and quantification with duplicate results averaged.

    The fentanyl quantitative method used a 0.5–32 ng/mL calibration range and administratively established detection and quantitation limits of 0.5 ng/mL. Those fentanyl performance characteristics must not be assigned automatically to naloxone.

    What did the negative naloxone findings mean?

    Naloxone was detected in one of the eleven documented-treatment specimens. It was not detected in any other antemortem specimen in the study. The authors cited the naloxone screening detection limit of 0.5 ng/mL and its short persistence as possible explanations.

    The study did not measure each person’s naloxone time course, establish the delivered dose, or experimentally identify the cause of every negative result. A plausible explanation for a low or absent signal is different from proof of that mechanism in each specimen.

    Nor is one positive among eleven a general assay sensitivity estimate. These were a small, retrospectively documented subgroup with unknown individual collection intervals, rather than a controlled validation study sampling known doses at fixed times.

    Why the distinction matters in death casework

    In a death investigation, treatment records and toxicology answer different questions. The record may document administration even when a retained specimen does not contain a reportable amount. A laboratory negative cannot erase independently documented treatment.

    Conversely, this living-person evidence does not establish how naloxone behaves during a postmortem interval, in decomposed blood, or in another matrix. It supplies no autopsy correction factor or guaranteed detection window.

    A documented return of consciousness also does not quantify one drug’s causal share in a mixed exposure. The paper contained frequent co-detection of other substances, and the eleven-case account did not experimentally isolate every possible contributor.

    What to recover before interpreting absence

    Obtain administration time, route, dose if known, specimen collection time and site, testing scope and reporting limits. For a later death investigation, preserve the distinction between hospital or other antemortem material and autopsy specimens.

    Related issues appear in hospital specimens used in forensic investigations. Treatment documentation, analytical detection, concentration, impairment and cause of death remain separate evidentiary steps.

    Primary source

    Havro V, Casassa N, Andera K, Mata D. A Two-Year Review of Fentanyl in Driving under the Influence and Postmortem Cases in Orange County, CA, USA. Journal of Analytical Toxicology. 2022;46:875–881. doi:10.1093/jat/bkac030.

  • Methadone and EDDP in Four Paired Vitreous–Blood Cases: Why the Table Matters More Than a Summary Ratio

    Methadone and its metabolite EDDP need separate, specimen-specific interpretation after death. In four original laboratory cases reported by Brunet and Mura, both substances were lower in vitreous than in blood. The methadone table also showed more variability than the accompanying prose summary suggested.

    What the four cases reported

    The cases were investigated because methadone might have played a role in death. Methadone was detected in all four blood specimens. The authors described the blood concentrations as not lethal and stated that other causes of death could be advanced; they did not provide detailed individual causal determinations.

    The report did not specify the anatomical blood collection site, individual postmortem intervals, case-specific storage history, doses or survival periods. These omissions prevent treating the four pairs as a uniform timing experiment.

    Case Methadone vitreous/blood, ng/mL EDDP vitreous/blood, ng/mL
    4 40 / 92 5 / 21
    5 58 / 70 6 / 24
    6 20 / 223 4 / 20
    7 10 / 56 1 / 5

    The methadone summary did not capture every table value

    Dividing vitreous by blood methadone gives approximately 0.43, 0.83, 0.09 and 0.18, respectively. Thus, the observed range calculated from the table is approximately 9–83%.

    The prose instead describes vitreous methadone as 10–50% of blood. The difference matters particularly for case 5: 58 divided by 70 is approximately 83%, not 50% or less. The published table and summary should remain distinguishable rather than silently replacing one with the other.

    Even an internally consistent four-case range would not validate a universal multiplier. These observations provide no independent prediction interval, antemortem comparison or controlled assessment of redistribution.

    EDDP had a different pattern

    The corresponding EDDP vitreous/blood quotients were approximately 0.24, 0.25, 0.20 and 0.20. In these observations, the metabolite’s relative concentrations varied less than the parent’s.

    That descriptive finding does not establish a validated intake-timing rule. A parent drug and metabolite need not distribute alike, and their concentrations cannot be read as a simple clock without an appropriate kinetic study. The paper did not demonstrate one in these four people.

    What did the analytical account establish?

    The laboratory described matrix-matched vitreous calibration and centrifugation, alongside chromatographic screening and drug-analysis workflows. However, it did not provide a complete methadone/EDDP-specific numerical validation package for these paired results, including individual detection limits, quantitation limits and uncertainty.

    The displayed concentrations therefore should retain the method information actually supplied. The historical review’s discussion of other laboratories’ screening devices or GC–MS confirmation does not establish that those procedures were used in these four original cases.

    How to use the findings in a new case

    The study supports the possibility of measurable methadone and EDDP in vitreous and demonstrates analyte-specific compartment differences. It does not justify concluding that a low vitreous value excludes important exposure or that a blood concentration can be recovered from a fixed ratio.

    Neither drug detection nor the authors’ historical description of “nonlethal” blood values settles an individual cause of death. The broader vitreous-versus-blood screening evidence likewise requires the matrix, analyte and analytical limits to remain visible.

    Primary source

    Brunet B, Mura P. L’humeur vitrée en toxicologie médico-légale : revue de la littérature et applications [Vitreous humor as an alternative matrix in forensic toxicology: literature review and applications]. Annales de Toxicologie Analytique. 2012;24(1):9–15. doi:10.1051/ata/2012004. The case findings discussed here are the authors’ own laboratory observations within this review-and-applications paper.

  • Vitreous 6-MAM in a Suspected Heroin Death: Drug Identification Was Different From Proving Overdose

    Detecting 6-monoacetylmorphine, or 6-MAM, can strengthen the identification of heroin exposure when morphine and codeine alone leave the exposure history less clear. That identification is different from proving that heroin caused death. Brunet and Mura’s own laboratory case illustrates both the value and the interpretive limit of vitreous testing.

    What did the blood show?

    The authors described a young woman whose death was suspected to involve heroin overdose. Cardiac blood contained morphine at 328 ng/mL and codeine at 64 ng/mL. They considered those blood findings insufficient by themselves to conclude formally that an overdose had occurred.

    The account did not provide the woman’s exact age, a precisely known ingestion time, a death-to-collection interval or a detailed storage history. The blood specimen was described as cardiac; it should not be substituted for a specified peripheral vessel.

    What did the eye specimen add?

    Vitreous contained 6-MAM at 42 ng/mL, morphine at 118 ng/mL and codeine at 68 ng/mL. These were three analytes in one alternative specimen, not three independent deaths or repeated measurements establishing a time course.

    The 6-MAM finding added heroin-related metabolic evidence beyond morphine and codeine concentrations. The authors treated the combined findings as supporting the suspected heroin-overdose interpretation. The case nevertheless supplied no independent diagnostic experiment validating a fatal vitreous 6-MAM threshold.

    The report did not give a numerical blood 6-MAM result for this individual. It is therefore inappropriate to turn an unreported value into zero, describe a validated negative blood result, or calculate a blood-to-vitreous 6-MAM ratio for her.

    Method details supported a defined analytical finding

    The laboratory’s opiate procedure used solid-phase extraction and LC–MS/MS. Drug-negative vitreous supplied matrix-matched calibration, and specimens were centrifuged before analysis. The investigators applied their routine plasma procedures to vitreous.

    The report did not reproduce analyte-specific vitreous detection and quantitation limits, precision or recovery for the case. LC–MS/MS is an analytical technology; naming it does not independently establish every element of identification or quantitative performance in a different matrix.

    The morphine and codeine relationships were not universal rules

    In this case, the vitreous/blood quotient was approximately 0.36 for morphine and 1.06 for codeine. These calculations use the reported concentrations and show that the two opiates had different compartment relationships.

    One compatible pair cannot establish a fixed conversion for either drug. It also does not prove the absence of postmortem change or tell the reviewer what the circulating concentrations were before death.

    A ratio between two postmortem specimens is a different observation from a serial comparison in the same person. The study provided no paired predeath sample against which to measure change.

    What can be concluded responsibly?

    Keep exposure identity, quantitative magnitude and causal attribution separate. The vitreous 6-MAM finding supported heroin identification in the investigated case. It did not determine an administered dose, a precise last-use time, earlier impairment or an infallible boundary between fatal and nonfatal exposure.

    In a new investigation, the complete autopsy, clinical and scene records, co-detected drugs and actual laboratory validation must accompany the result. The limitations of vitreous screening compared with blood remain relevant: specimen utility must be assessed for the particular analyte and procedure.

    Primary source

    Brunet B, Mura P. L’humeur vitrée en toxicologie médico-légale : revue de la littérature et applications [Vitreous humor as an alternative matrix in forensic toxicology: literature review and applications]. Annales de Toxicologie Analytique. 2012;24(1):9–15. doi:10.1051/ata/2012004. The case findings discussed here are the authors’ own laboratory observations within this review-and-applications paper.

  • Morphine Testing After Preservation Treatment: What a Vitreous Result Added to Questionable Autopsy Blood

    Vitreous humor can add evidence when preservation treatment has made an autopsy blood specimen questionable. It does not automatically validate the altered blood concentration. Brunet and Mura reported morphine at 1034 ng/mL in blood and 374 ng/mL in vitreous from a woman whose body received preservation treatment before autopsy and sampling.

    The sequence of events was important

    The reported death occurred in hospital following administration of morphine described as ten times the recommended dose. The body then underwent preservation treatment before the laboratory specimens were collected. The authors considered the quality of the blood doubtful and therefore also analyzed vitreous.

    The paper did not identify the blood vessel, give a precise administration-to-death or death-to-collection interval, or detail the preservation agents and procedure. The tenfold medication description was case history, not an amount independently reconstructed from the two concentrations.

    How vitreous was analyzed

    For the authors’ laboratory applications, drug-negative human vitreous was used for matrix-matched calibration. Vitreous specimens were centrifuged for five minutes at 15,000 g. Opiates underwent solid-phase extraction and liquid chromatography–tandem mass spectrometry.

    The laboratory used routine plasma analytical procedures without modification for vitreous beyond the stated preparation. The report did not supply a full morphine-specific numerical vitreous validation, including detection and quantitation limits, recovery and imprecision. Matrix-matched calibration was useful but did not replace those additional performance questions.

    The concentrations were different measurements

    The measured vitreous/blood quotient was approximately 0.36, calculated from 374 divided by 1034. The authors regarded the approximately one-third relationship as consistent with published distribution observations and considered it supportive of the blood result despite its altered condition.

    That was their interpretation of one case. Agreement with an expected relationship cannot independently prove that preservation treatment left either specimen unchanged. Two influenced measurements could still have a plausible-looking quotient.

    There was no before-and-after preservation experiment in this woman, no retained pre-treatment specimen comparison reported, and no controlled assessment of the treatment’s effect on morphine recovery. The study therefore could not quantify how much the blood or vitreous result changed because of the treatment.

    Corroboration is narrower than substitution

    The vitreous finding supported morphine detection in another compartment. It also provided additional evidence when the blood’s condition complicated interpretation. It did not turn 374 ng/mL vitreous into a measured blood value or validate multiplying every vitreous morphine result by three.

    Likewise, a positive vitreous measurement cannot alone establish the administered dose, the concentration at the time of a clinical event, or the specific mechanism of death. The medication history and hospital record remain separate evidence.

    How to assess a similarly compromised specimen

    Recover the timing of preservation treatment, agents used, sampling sites, collection order, container history and available predeath material. Identify whether the laboratory has evaluated its procedure in the actual alternative matrix and under the relevant specimen conditions.

    The broader paired vitreous screening research also emphasizes analyte-specific performance. A useful alternative specimen can strengthen an investigation while leaving substantial limits on quantitative blood reconstruction and cause-of-death attribution.

    Primary source

    Brunet B, Mura P. L’humeur vitrée en toxicologie médico-légale : revue de la littérature et applications [Vitreous humor as an alternative matrix in forensic toxicology: literature review and applications]. Annales de Toxicologie Analytique. 2012;24(1):9–15. doi:10.1051/ata/2012004. The case findings discussed here are the authors’ own laboratory observations within this review-and-applications paper.